Members Area

Forgotten your password?

The David Beach


The David Beach Competition

The David Beach Competition for Musicals came into being in 2002, at the suggestion of David Beach himself.  Hitherto it had been part of the Phoebe Rees Competition for full length plays, but it was felt that we needed a separate panel of adjudicators with a particular expertise in judging musical theatre, and also that the Competiton should have its own Moderator who could travel round to see all the entries.

Musical Theatre groups flocked to join the SFD so as to be able to compete with each other, and the entries flooded in.  They have increased steadily each year and now rival the Phoebe Rees in terms of the number of groups taking part.

The season runs, officially, from 1st January to 30th November. The panel meets in December to review all the entries and to agree a number of nominations for performances of particular merit in each of the 30 categories.  The winner of each is chosen after detailed debate, overseen by the Moderator, and the trophies are awarded at The David Beach Presentation Evening which takes place in March each year.

More details are available to individual SFD Members and to Club Contacts under Documents & Resources  in the left hand menu, where you can find out about how productions are marked and see the list of trophies to be awarded.

Pam and David Beach







Pam and David Beach at the 2010 Awards

2017 Season

Entry forms: it is now possible to fill in your entry form and submit it on line. Click here to view, or to request a printable version if you prefer.

The Panel

Moderator: Ian Hurdman

Adjudicators:  Ron Roberts, Andy Marchant, Chris Bailward, Jadi Carlyon and Dendy Harris

David Beach Coordinator: Di Dean          

2016 Season Winners  

BEST SOUND  Milborne Port Opera                                   The Sorcerer

BEST CREATIVE LIGHTING  Clevedon School Little Shop of Horrors

BEST EFFECTS Josh Fischer               Pinstripe Evita

TECHNICAL ACHIEVEMENT (adult)                                Spare Room                                                Urinetown

TECHNICAL ACHIEVEMENT (junior)                                Clevedon School                                         Little Shop of Horrors

PROPS                                            The Company             Motiv8                                         Starlight Express

STAGE MANAGEMENT  Clevedon School   Little Shop of Horrors

ORIGINAL SET                                Becca Long                Spare Room                                                Urinetown

ORIGINAL COSTUMES                  Nicki Saunders & Company           Motiv8                                      Starlight Express

FEMALE UNDER 16 Madison Walker as Dorothy            Oppitts The Wizard of Oz

MALE UNDER 16 Sterling Wilder-Gay as Cat in the Hat Yeovil Youth                     Seussical

FEMALE 17 - 21                             Jane Morgan as Little Sally              Spare Room                            Urinetown

MALE 17 - 21                                  Liam Frampton as Augustin Magaldi        Pinstripe                          Evita

CAMEO                                           Ryan Hughes as Carmen Ghia Merlin Theatre Co                   The Producers

Highly Commended                         Lisa Stallard as Martha Wilson Yeovil Operatic                       White Christmas
Winner                                             Lisa Brown as Paulette Bonaparte    Merlin Theatre Co                  Legally Blonde

MALE  SUPPORT                           Kevin Wheeler as Patsy                     WOPS Spamalot

FEMALE IN A LEAD ROLE Danielle Tucker as Eva                       Pinstripe                                Evita

MALE IN A LEAD ROLE                 Matt Bell as Che Guevarra                  Pinstripe Evita

ADJUDICATOR'S AWARD Wells Little Theatre for Return to the Forbidden Planet

MODERATOR'S AWARD                SCAMP for Songs for a New World

SHOWSTOPPER Opening Act 2                                      Milborne Port                       The Sorcerer

ADULT CHORUS Sunshine Productions for Rock of Ages 

JUNIOR CHORUS Yeovil Youth Theatre for Seussical

Highly Commended                        Spellbound for Joseph & the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat
Winner                                            Motiv8 for Starlight Express

SMALL VENUE TROPHY Milborne Port for The Sorcerer

CHOREOGRAPHY                         Marina Fairhead                              WOPS                                          Legally Blonde

MUSICAL DIRECTION Annie Ford                                       WOPS                                          Spamalot

Highly Commended                        Dan Warr-Extance                           Motiv8                                          Starlight Express
Winner                                            Sue Collings                                     Oppitts                                         The Wizard of Oz

Runner Up                                      Yeovil Youth Theatre for Seussical
Winner                                            Oppitts for The Wizard of Oz

Runners Up                                      Motiv8 for Starlight Express AND Weston Operatic for Spamalot
Winner                                              Pinstripe Productions for Evita