Members Area

Forgotten your password?

The Phoebe Rees


The Phoebe Rees Competition

The Phoebe Rees is a year-round full-length play competition which is open to any drama group in Somerset.  Productions are judged by one of a panel of visiting adjudicators, and the group receives a full written adjudication, usually within a week or two of the performance.  We also try to publish a review of the production in Spotlight Online.

The rules as to what consitutes 'a play' for the purposes of this competition were clarified in 2011, in order to provide "an equitable basis for adjudication and moderation".

The following criteria must apply to any production submitted for entry to the Phoebe Rees full-length play competition:

• it has a continuous narrative thread/plot line (which may or may not be chronologically sequenced)
• it has some consistency of character/s
• it has a running time of at least one hour (excluding interval)

The Adjudicator is responsible for marking the production, using a scheme devised by GODA - the Guild of Drama Adjudicators - and for nominating outstanding performances and exemplary production elements, in any of 25 categories. 

Every production is also seen by a Moderator, whose job it is to provide a benchmark against which each entry can be judged when the panel meets in early September to discuss the merits of all the productions seen that year, and to decide on the winner in each category.

The nominations are published in Spotlight Online in mid-September every year and the winners are announced at the Phoebe Presentation Evening in October. You can find a list of previous Phoebe Rees Trophy winners here .

More details are available to individual SFD Members and to Club Contacts under Documents & Resources in the left hand menu, where you can find out about how productions are marked and see the list of trophies to be awarded, as well as being able to download an entry form. 

If your group or society has any doubt regarding a proposed Phoebe Rees entry, please contact the Moderator via the Co-ordinator  .  A printed and bound copy of your proposed script (no photocopies please, unless it is out of print), with any major changes clearly indicated, must be sent to the Competition Co-ordinator no less than four weeks before performance.

Entry forms: It is now possible to fill in and submit your entry form on line. Click here to view, or to request a printable version if you prefer.


2018/19 Season

Moderator: Lyn Lockyer

Adjudicating Panel:   Philip de Glanville, Phil Wells, Robert Graydon, June Jenkins and Liz Holliss


Phoebe Rees Awards - Winners 2017/18






Best Effects: Frome Drama Club – The Lady in the Van

Best Sound: Ilminster Entertainment Society – Ladies in Lavender

Best Lighting: Swan Theatre – Arcadia

Best Props: Frome Drama Club – The Lady in the Van

Best Costumes: Taunton Thespians – Two Gentlemen of Verona

Best Stage Management: Street Theatre – One Man, Two Guvnors

Best Set Construction: Ilminster Entertainment Society – Humble

Best Creative Set Design: Swan Theatre – Bronte

Artistic Impression: Swan Theatre – Arcadia

Best Youth U16: Seb Lowe as William Beech – Somerton Dramatic Society – Goodnight Mister Tom

Best Youth U 21: Lydia Stobie-Owen as Mary Warren – Wells Little Theatre – The Crucible

Best Female Cameo: Jane Edwards as Emily Brent – Taunton Thespians – And Then There Were None

Best Male Cameo: Alastair Murray as Alfie – West Huntspill Players – One Man Two Guvnors

Best Featured Actress: Martine Davies as Sylvia – Taunton Thespians – Two Gentlemen of Verona

Best Featured Actor: Michal Jurkowski as Andrea – Ilminster Entertainment Society – Ladies in Lavender

Best Supporting Actress: Jo Neagle as Mercy Lott – Ilminster Entertainment Society – Humble Boy

Best Supporting Actor: Patrick Knox as Dada – Swan Theatre – Entertaining Mr Sloane

Best Actress: Sarah Easterbrook as Charlotte Bronte – Swan Theatre – Bronte

Best Actor: Chris Williamson as Felix Humble – Ilminster Entertainment Society – Humble Boy

George Crocker Challenge Trophy: Jess Payne, 18 yr old Director of Swan Theatre’s Bronte

Marie Gannicott (Champagne Moment) won by Barnstormers for the Argentine Tango in Ring Round the Moon

Gordon Neagle Cup: West Huntspill Players – One Man Two Guvnors

Best Direction: Philip de Glanville – Frome Drama Club – The Lady in the Van

The Phoebe Rees Trophy for Best Production: Swan Theatre – Arcadia 

A full report of the Awards Evening held at The Shrubbery on Saturday 13th October can be found in Spotlight Online, and photos taken during the course of the evening by Roger Price can be found on Photobox at:

                              , password: Saturday13